WEDA Professional Awards

In 1985, WEDA established a Professional Awards program with the purpose of recognizing exceptional contributions to the economic vitality of Wisconsin.  The award categories and nomination schedule are as follows:

Professional Award Applications (Dates nominations are to be accepted):

These awards are presented at the Governor’s Conference on Economic Development.  These awards are an excellent opportunity to recognize accomplishments of individuals and organizations that are making significant contributions to the field of economic development at the local, regional or state level.  If you have any questions or would like to submit an nomination, please contact WEDA staff at

Past Winners By Category:

 Frederick C Pearce Organizational Excellence Young Professional (2016)
Roger Nacker & John Stibal
Chris Swartz Sheboygan County EDC Coleman Peiffer
Mike Harrigan Madison Regional Economic Partnership Shannon Full
Tom Mihjalov Chippewa Valley Technical College
Jim Hough Chippewa County EDC
Bruce Wm Mommaerts City of Prairie du Chien
Mary Cole Laub Fond du Lac County EDC
Craig Carlson Kempert Krogan
Merlin Zitzner Timbercreek Development
Larry D. Krause City of Eau Claire – Michael Schatz
Hartford Area Development Corp. City of West Allis
Robert R. Brown III School of Ind. & Technology (UW-Stout)
Michael Anderson WI State Senate/ WI State Assembly
Robert B. Fick Experimental Aircraft Association
Gov. Tommy Thompson Jane & Lloyd Pettit
Robert Walraven
 Robert Houle & Russell Bauman