State Rep. Dave Armstrong Recognized as WEDA Legislator of the Year

The Wisconsin Economic Development Association (WEDA) recently presented state Rep. Dave Armstrong (R-Rice Lake) with the organization’s Legislator of the Year award for his exceptional leadership on policy initiatives to drive economic growth and prosperity in Wisconsin during the 2023-24 Wisconsin legislative session. The award was presented to Rep. Armstrong at a community event in Rice Lake, WI.

“Rep. Armstrong remains an incredibly strong voice for economic development in Madison, advocating for policies and programs that encourage economic growth in his local communities and across Wisconsin,” said Michael Welsh, WEDA V.P. of Legislative Affairs. “His work and leadership during the 2023-24 legislative session on key initiatives to address the state’s workforce shortage crisis, lack of affordable housing, and childcare access concerns will provide new opportunities for growth and prosperity for Wisconsin businesses and families.”

Armstrong earned WEDA’s Legislator of the Year award for his efforts in the Assembly on a wide range of legislation to advance the Wisconsin economy, including several bills passed into law to encourage the development of much-needed workforce housing, successful legislation to promote business expansion and investment into Wisconsin, and several proposals to provide communities with the policy tools to drive local economic growth and prosperity.

“I was surprised to receive this unexpected honor. I value working with an organization like WEDA that is dedicated to growing business, communities, and families in Wisconsin,” said Armstrong. “I look forward to continuing this work with them next session.”

Armstrong, who was first elected to the Assembly 2020, currently serves as Chairman of the Assembly Rural Development Committee, and sits on several other key committees, including the Jobs and the Economy Committee, the Workforce Development Committee, and the Housing Committee. He is also a member of the Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation Board of Directors. Dave currently represents the 75th Assembly District, which includes Barron and Washburn Counties. Due to legislative redistricting, he will be running for reelection this fall in the 67th Assembly District. The district stretches from Rice Lake south into Dunn and Chippewa Counties.