In Case You Missed It: WEDA Announces “Champion of Economic Development” Legislative Award Winners

Earlier this summer, WEDA unveiled the small list of state lawmakers who earned our 2022 “Champion of Economic Development” legislative award for their leadership in the State Capitol during the 2021-22 legislative session on initiatives to drive economic growth and prosperity in Wisconsin.

WEDA presents the awards at the end of each two-year legislative session to state lawmakers who demonstrate extraordinary support for important economic development policies. This year WEDA is presenting the award to 20 state lawmakers who exhibited an exceptional commitment to growing Wisconsin’s economy based on several factors, including voting record, sponsorship of legislation, and responsiveness to critical economic development issues.

WEDA is extremely appreciative of these legislators’ efforts to help provide legislative solutions to some of Wisconsin’s largest economic and business community challenges, including talent attraction; workforce housing; TIF preservation and enhancement; economic development incentives; community redevelopment tools; and rural broadband expansion.

Please find below the full list of state lawmakers who have been recognized as a WEDA 2022 “Champion of Economic Development”:

State Representatives:

  • Rep. Dave Armstrong (R-Rice Lake)
  • Rep. Mark Born (R-Beaver Dam)
  • Rep. Amy Loudenbeck (R-Clinton)
  • Rep. Dave Murphy (R-Greenville)
  • Rep. Tod Ohnstad (D-Kenosha)
  • Rep. Sylvia Ortiz-Valez (D-Milwaukee)
  • Rep. William Penterman (R-Columbus)
  • Rep. Warren Petryk (R-Town of Washington)
  • Rep. Treig Pronschinske (R-Mondovi)
  • Rep. Donna Rozar (R-Marshfield)
  • Rep. Rob Summerfield (R-Bloomer)
  • Rep. Dave Tittl (R-Manitowoc)
  • Rep. Ron Tusler (R-Harrison)
  • Rep. Nancy VanderMeer (R-Tomah)
  • Rep. Robin Vos (R-Rochester)

State Senators:

  • Sen. Joan Ballweg (R-Markesan)
  • Sen. Rob Cowles (R-Green Bay)
  • Sen. Dan Feyen (R-Fond du Lac)
  • Sen. Howard Marklein (R-Spring Green)
  • Sen. Eric Wimberger (R-Green Bay)