Rep. Ken Skowronski Receives WEDA’s Champion of Economic Development Award

The Wisconsin Economic Development Association (WEDA) today presented Rep. Ken Skowronski (R-Franklin) with the 2020 “Champion of Economic Development” award for his leadership on legislative initiatives to drive economic growth and prosperity in Wisconsin.

The award is presented to state legislators who exemplify WEDA’s mission of promoting economic development and are committed to making Wisconsin a better place to live, work and do business through effective policies. Rep. Skowronski earned the “Champion of Economic Development” award for work on key legislation during the 2019-20 legislative session, including several bills aimed at boosting workforce housing development and Opportunity Zones legislation to spur new in-state investment.

“Representative Skowronski continues to be a strong voice for economic development in the legislature, advocating for policies and programs that help advance economic prosperity and create new opportunities for communities across the state,“ said Michael Welsh, WEDA Legislative Affairs Director. “WEDA cannot thank him enough for his leadership during the legislative session on key proposals to encourage new workforce housing and attract new investment to capital starved communities.”

WEDA is presenting the award to 21 state lawmakers who exhibited an exceptional commitment to growing Wisconsin’s economy based on several factors, including voting record, sponsorship of legislation and responsiveness to critical economic development issues during the 2019-20 session.

“The Wisconsin Economic Development Association and our members are excited to recognize Rep. Skowronski as a ‘Champion of Economic Development’ for his work on pro-growth policies and commitment to advancing Wisconsin’s economy,” said Brian Doudna, WEDA Executive Director.

The Wisconsin Economic Development Association, founded in 1975, is a statewide non-profit organization dedicated to growing Wisconsin’s economy. Driven by the needs of our 450-plus members, we represent the economic development interests of both the private and public sectors through leadership on statewide initiatives.