Melissa Meschke Receives Andy Lisak Young Professional Award 

The Wisconsin Economic Development Association recognized Melissa Meschke as the 2024 Andy Lisak Young Professional Award winner at the 2024 Governor’s Conference on Economic Development held in early February in Wisconsin Dells, WI. The prominent award, given every other year, was established in 1985 to recognize individuals who have made significant contributions in the field of economic development early in their career.

“WEDA is excited to recognize Melissa for her contributions, leadership, and achievements in the field of economic development. Her dedication to the profession and exceptional work to advance growth in her community and across Wisconsin this early in her career is highly commendable,” said Mary Perry, WEDA President and CEO. “The economic development profession can be challenging, and it is critical for Wisconsin to retain the best and the brightest, like Melissa, who will help shape the state’s economic future.”

Melissa currently serves as the Executive Director of St. Croix Economic Development Corporation, a dynamic countywide economic development organization that focuses on fostering local growth through business attraction and retention, workforce development, housing, and entrepreneurial development. Prior to her work in St. Croix County, she served as the Economic Development Outreach Manager for the University of Wisconsin’s Institute for Business & Entrepreneurship and worked for several years driving small business development in central Wisconsin.

Meschke said, “I have been a part of the WEDA family for seven years and can say with full confidence that I would not be where I am today in my career without this incredible network of wonderful humans”. She continued, “I hope to be able to live up to Andy’s legacy as this year’s awardee.”

The Andy Lisak Young Professional Awrad was created by WEDA to acknowledge the rising stars of the economic development industry who are committed to meeting the economic challenges of today and positioning Wisconsin for a more successful tomorrow. The award is named after Andy Lisak, a former WEDA president and highly respected leader in Wisconsin’s economic development community who passed away in December 2020.