Call for WEDA Professional Awards Nominations

As the eagerly anticipated WEDA Governor’s Conference approaches, we are thrilled to announce the commencement of nominations for the prestigious WEDA Professional Awards program. Instituted in 1985, these awards serve as a testament to the remarkable achievements of individuals and organizations actively shaping the landscape of economic development at the local, regional, or state levels.

The awards program features the esteemed Andy Lisak Young Professional Award and the Organizational Excellence Award, both of which are biennially presented at the WEDA Governor’s Conference on Economic Development.

Andy Lisak Young Professional Award

**Deadline for Nominations:** December 22, 2023

The Andy Lisak Young Professional Award, named in honor of the late Andy Lisak, a distinguished figure in economic development, acknowledges the outstanding contributions of a WEDA member aged 40 or younger at the time of nomination. Andy Lisak’s legacy, marked by his service at local, regional, and state levels, as well as his chairmanship of the WEDA board, underscores the profound impact that can be made early in a career in economic development. Nominees for this award should exemplify excellence in WEDA contributions, community and industry involvement, milestone achievements in economic development, active participation in WEDA educational initiatives, and leadership in forging partnerships.

To submit a nomination, please send the following details to WEDA at

  • Name of nominating WEDA member (including contact information)
  • Name and age of the nominated person (including contact information)

  • Academic and trade background, including industry certifications

  • Geographical location of economic development service

  • Description of how the nominee meets the award criteria, showcasing commitment to WEDA, success in economic development projects, recognition as a subject matter expert, and peer acknowledgment as a collaborator/partnership builder

  • Attach a current resume and an independent reference letter

Organizational Excellence Award

**Deadline for Nominations:** December 22, 2023

The Organizational Excellence Award celebrates a WEDA member organization that has demonstrated a sustained commitment to economic development, making outstanding contributions to fueling the growth of the Wisconsin economy. Open to economic development organizations, businesses, and other entities dedicated to prosperity and growth, past winners have excelled in innovative program development, introducing new services to their market, and providing solutions to local economic challenges.

To submit a nomination, please send the following details to WEDA at

  • Name of nominating WEDA member (including contact information)

  • Name and contact information of the nominated organization

  • Location of the nominated organization

  • Brief description of how the organization meets the award criteria, emphasizing commitment to successful economic development outcomes, success in managing economic development initiatives, creativity in advancing organizational goals related to economic development, and collaboration with other organizations to achieve common economic development goals

Winner Selections:

All nominations will be thoughtfully reviewed by the WEDA Executive Committee, and winners will be selected using a ranked judging process. The much-anticipated announcement of the winners will take place at the 2024 WEDA Governor’s Conference on Economic Development on February 1, 2024.

For inquiries or additional information on the awards, please reach out to WEDA staff at Your participation in recognizing excellence in economic development is invaluable, and we look forward to celebrating the deserving recipients at the upcoming conference.