Champion of Economic Development

State legislators who exemplify WEDA’s mission of promoting economic development and are committed to making Wisconsin a better place to live, work and do business through policies that advance economic growth are recognized as Champions of Economic Development.

At the end of each two-year legislative session, WEDA presents the award to lawmakers who exhibited an exceptional commitment to growing Wisconsin’s economy based on several factors, including:

  • Voting record on bills critical to economic growth
  • Authorship or sponsorship of key legislation
  • Responsiveness to economic development issues

This year, over the course of the summer and early fall, WEDA will present 21 legislators with the “Champion of Economic Development” award for their efforts during the 2019-20 legislative session.

2020 WEDA Champion of Economic Development award winners: